Qualification rules and prizes

Qualification for competition

Qualification for the Finals consists of several steps. All universities from acrosse the world are assigned to a region. The most successful teams from regional contests go to the finals. However, getting to the regionals requires a good result in a sub-regional contest. And in some places (e.g. China) to enter a sub-regional contest, teams should qualify in an even smaller contest.

Universities often hold local ICPC-like competitions to choose teams that will represent them in sub-regional and regional contests. Every year for each region, the number of teams that will enter the finals is determined. This number depends on the amount of participating teams, the results of previous finals and other factors.

In a regional contest, one university may be represented by several teams, but only one team from each university may enter finals.

This year 122 teams will participate in ACM ICPC World Finals.


Teams are ranked according to the number of problems solved. Teams who solve the same number of problems are ranked first by least total time and, if need be, by the time of submission of the last accepted problem.

Teams finishing in the top four positions will be awarded Gold Medals. Those finishing fifth through eighth place will be awarded Silver Medals. Teams in ninth through twelfth place will receive Bronze Medals. Additional Bronze Medals may be awarded.

The highest scoring team is the World Champion and will receive the World Champion Cup.

The World Champion team will be awarded $12,000. Each of the other three Gold Medal teams will be awarded $6,000. Each Silver Medal team will be awarded $3,000. Each Bronze Medal team will be awarded $1,500.

ACM ICPC official website.

Have a question?
Call us
+7 965-542-00-00